Home > Knitting > Special Olympics and others on the needles

Special Olympics and others on the needles

For the past two years, the Special Olympics has had a project for knit and/or crocheted scarves for all the atheletes to take home. I just discovered this shortly before their 2011 deadline for projects and was quite bummed. Charity knitting is starting to become a thought of mine, like chemo caps are in the queue, and love the idea of being able to give with what I can which is my knitting.

The 2012 colors should be released any day now and I’m very excited, but sad because the past two years they’ve used Red Heart Super Saver (because their parent company is the sponsor of the program, but i digress…) and most knitters that are the least bit snobby understand how cruddy that yarn can be. So squeeky and no give, etc. There’s rumors, and I hope it’s true, are that the colors will be available in a wider range of Lion Brand yarns. I’d be happy even if it were the Red Heart soft, because I actually didn’t mind the feel of it when I came across it at a Michael’s last month.

So that’s something coming down the pipe. I’m currently working on a Baby Surprise Jacket for a friend, a test knit clutch that’s just about done and a monster afghan — 6 balls of Wool Ease Thick and Quick in Spice which is a nice dark orange, almost rust colored. But that’s something that’s mindless and when I feel like it. Deadline is like before the cold weather sets back in so I’ll have a nice comfy blankie for at the computer or to curl up watching movies since I rarely knit for myself.

Here’s a link to the special olympics scarf project pages if your interested:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Scarves-For-Special-Olympics
http://www.scarvesforspecialolympics.org/

And the chemo cap place I plan to donate to someday:
http://www.halosofhope.org/

Categories: Knitting Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

