Home > Spinning, Weird > Spinning Cat Hair?!?!

Spinning Cat Hair?!?!

Oh the things I find on ravelry! I was browsing the Test knit group to see if there were any projects I might like to adopt, checked someones profile to see if a pattern was published and saw they are a member of a group on spinning pet hair. I was like *double takes* WHAT?! and of course had to check it out. Then it all clicked and now I’m dreaming of spinning my damn cat. I love weird things, exotic catgora yarns would fall into that category haha!

But if you really think about it, mats are just felted spots of cat fur, so all that fiber, err fur, is going to waste just shedding off of them all over our things. It’s really time they gave back a bit more than the occasional head butt 😉 There’s even a lady who’s making money spinning people’s pets fur, here, http://www.spinningstrawintogold.com

My mother still has a small amount of brushed fur from her favorite Kitty. I guess it’s more common than I thought. So now I’m sitting here wondering if I could make $ from going to various groomers and asking them to keep long haired cat trimmings. They’re just throwing them out anyway, right?! *snickers*

Categories: Spinning, Weird
  1. mizufusion
    April 27, 2011 at 4:48 AM

    I heard of this a few years ago, when I was studying fashion design. It sounds really neat, but all I can think of are the allergies.. I hope the yarn is washed and treated in a way to minimize that, because right now I can’t imagine intentionally using cat hair in a garment..

    • April 28, 2011 at 4:36 AM

      I think most people are allergic to the cat dander which is produced in the saliva as they clean themselves. So a proper washing of the yarn, be it pure or a blend, should alleviate those problems. I have a friend wanting me to spin now to make her kitty into something haha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

