Home > Dyeing > Dyeing yarn with KoolAid

Dyeing yarn with KoolAid

I forget how it came to be, but I’ve promised my brother an i-Pad coozie made from fingering weight yarn. Last year, I bought my first blank hank of fingering weight anticipating making socks from it but it’s pure wool so now that I know better it sat waiting for the perfect project. TA-DA! But it was white and he wanted either grey or dark blue, so what to do…

KOOLAID! Yes folks, if you’ve never heard of it, Kool-Aid can be used to dye protein fibers in a very simple process. This is the tutorial I used along with this color chart and it came out perfecto if I do say so myself. So far I only have starting dyeing and cooling down in the pot pictures but you’ll just have to love them.

EDIT: I’ve added a picture of the sloppy hank I made 🙂 The yarn is darker in person, not quite as dark as it was wet but not that light either.

Categories: Dyeing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

